Best credit card to use in Italy with no additional (transaction) fees?

Discussion in 'American Express | Membership Rewards' started by kayjay, Mar 2, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. kayjay
    • Original Member

kayjay Silver Member

I have Amex SPG, Delta, AAdvantage business & personal, Costco;
    Visa - onepass, chase freedom;
    MasterCard - Citi PPE, Sony

I didn't have much time to call & research each card to know if there are any additional fee for each transactions? I probably will be using at hotels, restaurants, siteseeing centers, tickets, trains, etc. This is my first time in Italy and for tourism. If all the cards charge any fee, which is a better card (for knowledge sake)?

Also, how much cash/travellers cheque should I carry for 7 day trip approximately?

Other form of mode of payment any recommendation?

savydog and Gargoyle like this.
  2. geclub1
    • Original Member

geclub1 Silver Member

Amex SPG, Delta, 2.7%

AAdvantage business & personal,
    These 2 are issued by Citi and it is 3%

Costco;
    don't know

Visa - onepass, chase freedom;
    These 2 are issued by Chase and it is 3%

MasterCard - Citi PPE, 3%

Sony
    don't know

Amex does not require you to call to use overseas. Other banks require you to let them that you will be out of area and they are very trigger happy to deny charges when not notified.

savydog and kayjay like this.
  3. kayjay
    • Original Member

kayjay Silver Member

Thanks a lot. Any CC or debit card without any transaction fees?

4. piqaro
    • Original Member

piqaro Silver Member

I have these affinity cards (2-AMEX, 2-Citi, 1-Chase) but outside the USA, I use USAA.
    Almost anyone can join now, but there are qualifications to use their insurance.

USAA charges 1% and you get a market exchange.
    The interest rate is reasonable. They reimburse all ATM fees and there is no annual fee.
    The car rental coverage and discount is among the best worldwide.