How do I transfer Amex Points to United

Discussion in 'American Express | Membership Rewards' started by Lrabin, Dec 5, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Lrabin Active Member

I am new to this and I have 500,000 amex points that I want to transfer to United.
    How do I do it?
    GoodBoy and miles and smiles like this.
  2. edekba Gold Member

I didnt think UA was a partner with MR.
    GoodBoy and LETTERBOY like this.
    • Original Member

miles and smiles Gold Member

GoodBoy, IDGflygirl, LIH Prem and 2 others like this.
  3. iamapirate Active Member

You can go to Starpoints then United....but you'll take a beating.
    GoodBoy, rodeojones and LETTERBOY like this.
    • Original Member

FlyingFree Gold Member

What are you planning to do with the miles? Remember that you can transfer AMEX miles to British Airways, through which you can book flights on American Airlines and other OneWorld partners...
    GoodBoy likes this.
  4. Lrabin Active Member

I was told I can transfer them into an ANA Airlines account and then book United through this?
    Has anyone heard of this?
    GoodBoy and mattsteg like this.
    • Original Member

Steven Schwartz Silver Member

You can absolutely transfer to ANA can then book United flights.

They have a different redemption schedule which is better for some trips and worse for others. But they do have much higher fees than United does. Still, if you have lots of MR points and somewhere you want to go, it is most certainly a viable alternative. It is mileage based. With United there is one cost (in miles) from anywhere in the US to, for example, Europe. With ANA, you need to figure the round-trip miles.

Here's the schedule:

Total itinerary distance
    (the sum of all basic flight segment mileages)
    Economy class
    Business class
    FIRST CLASS
    0-2,000
    2,001-4,000
    4,001-7,000
    7,001-9,000
    9,001-11,000
    11,001-14,000
    14,001-18,000
    18,001-20,000
    20,001-22,000
    22,001-25,000
    25,001-29,000